•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

Full-frame DSLR, Bulb Shutter Setting

• Please log in to reply
12 replies to this topic

#1 proa

proa

Lift Off

• -----
  • topic starter

Posted 30 June 2020 - 09:43 PM

Hi: I am a beginner and intend to buy a DSLR. Do you  have a full-frame camera and does it give you any advantages?

While we're at it, does your camera have Bulb Shutter Setting and does that give you any advantages?

Thanks.

#2 bobzeq25

bobzeq25

ISS

Posted 30 June 2020 - 11:12 PM

Hi: I am a beginner and intend to buy a DSLR. Do you  have a full-frame camera and does it give you any advantages?

While we're at it, does your camera have Bulb Shutter Setting and does that give you any advantages?

Thanks.

Full frame is only an advantage if your optics can cover the field well, without too much distortion.  Many camera lenses can.  Relatively few moderately priced scopes.  The buzzwords are "image circle." 

Bulb is virtually a necessity for the exposures for deep space.  Also, either an intervalometer or a software program for shooting multiple subexposures.

• drd715 likes this

#3 Hesiod

Hesiod

Soyuz

Posted 01 July 2020 - 03:11 AM

Big sensor is nice but, as Bobzeq25 pointed out, it may end more pricey (full frame lenses are the expensive "pro" lines).
However, IMHO, if can afford the full frame go for it.
Bulb mode on the other hand is IMHO a staple: with modern cameras and fast lenses can get results at 30" but once start to use a slow telescope risk to have all the subs underexposed

#4 spereira

spereira

Mercury-Atlas

• Moderators
  • Loc: Bedford, NH

Posted 01 July 2020 - 07:16 AM

Moving to DSLR & Digital Camera Astro Imaging & Processing.

smp

#5 sg6

sg6

Cosmos

• Loc: Norfolk, UK.

Posted 01 July 2020 - 07:16 AM

Will add that finding "B" on a DSLR can be sort of "not easy".