•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

Barlow lens / DSLR Setup

• Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

#1 jjbroomco

jjbroomco

Lift Off

• -----
  • topic starter

Posted 01 July 2020 - 12:35 AM

Hello,
I want to attach my Nikon D5300 to my Celestron SE 6 and take photos of the lunar surface. I am brand new to all of this. I have the appropriate T-ring for my camera. Instead of a T-ring adapter, I have the Celestron Doubling Power lens (essentially a 2x Barlow) that comes with T-ring adapter threads on it.

I removed my camera lens completely, put the T-ring on the camera, connected that to the T- ring adapter threads on the doubling lens, which in turn connects directly to the telescope.

Is this the correct setup? I didn’t think it was possible to use a doubling lens by itself without a separate eyepiece. I watched a Celestron marketing video and this is how they set it up for DSLR use.

However, when I pointed the telescope at the moon, all I could see through the camera viewfinder or live view was solid, unfocused white. I adjusted the focusing knob on the telescope quite a bit, and nothing changed. So I am doing something wrong. I never saw the moon through my camera viewfinder.

Any suggestions?

#2 mmalik

mmalik

DSLR camera modifications

• Vendors
  • Loc: USA

Posted 01 July 2020 - 01:22 AM

Lunar imaging is a science of magnification no doubt. With that comes the long back focus. Most likely you don't have enough back travel to reach focus. Here... is a more robust magnification system (...not much familiar with what you are referring to). Hope this helps. Regards

Edited by mmalik, 01 July 2020 - 01:23 AM.

#3 Tulloch

Tulloch

Apollo

• Loc: Melbourne, Australia

Posted 01 July 2020 - 02:38 AM