•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

Nikon J1 for planetary imaging

• Please log in to reply
6 replies to this topic

#1 prdubois

prdubois

Lift Off

• -----
  • topic starter

Posted 03 July 2020 - 09:03 PM

Hello,

So I'm very new to this hobby, literally just got a Z130 650mm scope because my son got suddenly excited about planets (finally got an excuse to scratch that astronomy itch). I'd like to do planet photography but keep my initial cost low. As such I'd like to use my old Nikon J1 mirroless cam if possible.

It has relatively small pixels at 3.4 um but the problem is that this cam won't do 1x1 pixel in movie mode. It bins pixels. That will ruin my resolution. Is it possible to do small acquisition bursts of say, 30 images or so, wait for the buffer to empty to the sd card, and repeat that cycle a few times? I won't be getting the thousands of images I see people using for lucky imaging using that technique...

Will I get satisfactory results using that method or am I wasting my time? The other option I'm considering is using my even older Logitech webcam pro 9000. It's old so can only do 5 fps though so not sure it's worth the trouble.

Of course I know that to get best results I should buy something like a QHY cam but I'd like to get my feet wet first and get my son interest alive with a "quick win".

Thanks

• Tulloch likes this

#2 Tulloch

Tulloch

Surveyor 1

• Loc: Melbourne, Australia

Posted 04 July 2020 - 08:05 PM

Hi there, the system you are describing is not ideal for photographing the planets for a number of reasons - the focal length is too short, it doesn't track the planets (so they will move across the eyepiece/screen) and the camera bins the pixels in movie mode.