•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

The Launch of The Cubble Space Telescope

• Please log in to reply
10 replies to this topic

#1 AstroCub

AstroCub

Lift Off

• -----
  • topic starter

Posted 04 July 2020 - 09:08 PM

Hi and nice to meet you. This is my first thread. I live in the USA but am British, from London. I am a telecope beginner but have been into astronomy my whole life. I have recently decided to buy a telescope and have a few questions regarding that. Up until now I have been using 10 x .50 binoculars, heeding the advice the late Sir Patrick Moore once gave me in person - "buy binoculars, not that cheap rubbish they sell in Woolworths" 

So, my I chose Celestron as my brand for the mount and the telescope. 

I was going to get the Celestron 9.25" SCT with the Edge optics, married to a CGEM II mount. The Cubble Space Telescope

The problem I founfd was that the CGEM mount was far too heavy for me. It really is a dead weight and quite a handful if you're not used to lifting heavy items.Far be it for a beginner like me to give advice but really, if weight could be an issue for you, try and test these items in the flesh before purchase if at all possible. 

In fact the CGEM mount was so heavy that I have sent it back, along with the OTA. 

So I re-thought my initial choices for telescope and mount. 

I am instead going to buy the Advanced VX mount, which weighs 20 lbs lighter than the CGEM. Goodness knows how people cope with the CGXL mounts, although they are things of beauty to me.heart.png

So I have the mount sorted out My question is about the telescope itself