•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

Attempted First Light Last Night - Need Help

• Please log in to reply
12 replies to this topic

#1 ESzczesniak

ESzczesniak

Explorer 1

• -----
  • topic starter

Posted 05 July 2020 - 10:17 AM

I am very new to astronomy, as many of you may be guessing after I've already posted a handful of topics.  I started visual astronomy about 3 months ago and tried my first actual night session with a DSO AP last night.  Based on what I was planning to accomplish, I can't say it was a complete failure, but I need help/input. The AP setup I have is:

1. WO Zenithstar 81 mm

2. WO 50 mm guidescope

3. ASI 290MM guide camera

4. ASI 294MC-P Imaging Camera

5. EQ6-R Mount

And software:

1. SharpCap

2. CdC

3. PHD2

4. AstroTortilla

5. Necessary ASCOM/EQMOD drivers

I've spend the last month or so reading and setting up all the software and hardware as far as I can.  During the day when there's nothing to see through the camera, all interfaces seem to work well. 

Last night I attempted a practical session.  Yes, the 4th of July with a full moon is a poor night, but I wasn't planning to actually image anything.  My goals were:

1. Polar Align

2. Goto align the scope

3. Guide on a star

Not surprising, I ran in to some troubles and was hoping this is where I could find some help.

1. Success! - I used the SharpCap PA tool and by their numbers, had to 2-2.5 arc minutes of accuracy.  I know it'll need to be better, but since I wasn't planning on actually imaging, stopped fiddling a bit early.  The SharpCap PA tool is a plate solver, so I also proved on the main scope that I could focus (rough, then using the SharpCap FHWM tool) and adjust gain/exposure to get a good star field.