•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

Question on possibilities - Astrophotography

• Please log in to reply
9 replies to this topic

#1 LIVS

LIVS

Lift Off

• -----
  • topic starter

Posted 06 July 2020 - 05:03 PM

Hello all,

I am just starting out in this area. First, I have a 10” collapsible Dobsonian SkyWatcher with tracking, Canon EOS Rebel and a Cannon adapter with a 3x Barlowe lens . Is there any adaptor that will, say, mimic the detail and magnification if a 4mm eyepiece and allow me to shoot at that magnification or does all image enhancement happen post in the editing software of your choosing? 

#2 APshooter

APshooter

Skylab

• Loc: Camby, In.

Posted 06 July 2020 - 05:47 PM

Astrophotography requires special telescopes and mounts.  The short answer is no on the adapter question.  Magnification comes from coupling a camera to a specific telescope.  I would guess you'd need to be shooting through a 8" or larger SCT to get as much magnification as a 4mm eyepiece would give you visually.  The  task would be daunting to pull off well if you've not done imaging before.  Most folks shooting through long FL scopes are advanced imagers.

#3 Stelios

Stelios

Cosmos

• Moderators
  • Loc: West Hills, CA

Posted 06 July 2020 - 06:28 PM

"Magnification" in AP can be achieved by just zooming in. It's totally unlike visual. This is done with a 70mm scope. 

The equivalent concept in AP is "image scale"--how much of the sky fits on one pixel. This, in conjunction with the seeing and the optical resolution of your telescope, limits how far you can push the zooming before no more detail can be seen--the AP equivalent of "empty magnification."