•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

Looking for help to improve my mount stability to

astrophotography
  • Please log in to reply
10 replies to this topic

#1 jcschultz01

jcschultz01

Lift Off

• -----
  • topic starter
  • Loc: Twin Cities, MN

Posted 06 July 2020 - 05:14 PM

For reference I am pretty new to astrophotography and am looking for recommendations to improve my astrophotography results and in the near term my tripod stability.

In more detail, I have an iOPtron iEQ45Pro mount on a 2" tripod base, setting on 3-4 concrete blocks so the tripod does not dig into my driveway and it it higher/easier to look through for polar alignment.

I do a visual polar alignment using the mount and the mount's internal AccuAlign Polar Scope with a Losmandy dovetail and my Canon 5D MKIII and a Canon 600mm lens with a 2x extender for an f8 1200mm lens in place. 

The camera/lenses weigh about 13 pounds which should be well within the capability of the iOptron mount

I do a 3 star alignment which says, for example, that  I am  40' 41" low and 1' 18" west.  This is not great I know and I would appreciate any suggestions to improving my alignment but it is not my biggest problem (I think).

My biggest problem is the camera/telescope appears to jitter when tracking, in this case M57.  

I have attached a picture taken somewhat randomly from the first 90 minutes of a series of 2 minute exposures a couple nights ago.

If I was not polar aligned correctly I would expect to see star trails.  But what I see is star dancing.

I have tightened everything down just hand tight and I still get this kind jitter for a 2 minute exposure.  If I go to 1 minute is it not as bad.