•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

Is all star polar align exclusive to Celestron?

• Please log in to reply
28 replies to this topic

#1 Darren Drake

Darren Drake

Skylab

• topic starter
  • Loc: Chicagoland

Posted 06 July 2020 - 05:39 PM

I recently got a CGEM II and love this new feature.  I'm new to eq mounts being  a dob guy so i had the impression that this is such a cool feature that it must be in other mounts.  However i havent found any that  allow polar alignment by offsetting any star the same amount as the polar alignment error.  So i wonder if other mounts have this.  And if not why not?  Is it patented?

Edited by Darren Drake, 06 July 2020 - 05:41 PM.

#2 Michael Covington

Michael Covington

Author

• Vendors
  • Loc: Athens, Georgia, USA

Posted 06 July 2020 - 06:05 PM

I can tell you iOptron definitely does not.   I am told Losmandy Gemini does but am not sure.  The other brand to check would be Sky-Watcher, which is likely to be similar to Celestron, but I'm not sure.

I'm wondering if it's patented, too!  Seems like it might be too obvious to be patentable.

#3 DuncanM

DuncanM

Gemini

• -----
  • Loc: Arizona Sky Village or the rain forest

Posted 06 July 2020 - 09:07 PM

I recently got a CGEM II and love this new feature.  I'm new to eq mounts being  a dob guy so i had the impression that this is such a cool feature that it must be in other mounts.  However i havent found any that  allow polar alignment by offsetting any star the same amount as the polar alignment error.  So i wonder if other mounts have this.  And if not why not?  Is it patented?

iOptron implements a similar feature.

"5.3.6. Polar Iterate Align
This alignment method allows you to polar align the mount even if you cannot view the Celestial Pole.