•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

First Telescope for AP

• Please log in to reply
19 replies to this topic

#1 DocTopher

DocTopher

Lift Off

• -----
  • topic starter

Posted 07 July 2020 - 05:08 PM

I’m sure this gets asked a lot, but I have done my own research over the last month into an ideal telescope and having trouble coming to a decision. I have read many threads and watched many reviews on YouTube, but there is rarely a consensus. Let me tell you all a little about me and what I hope to accomplish and maybe you could point me in a direction.

I am new to astronomy and no AP experience. I would like to approach AP the way I have with most of my interest and hobbies, which is to purchase equipment that is a little more above my skill level and have something to grow into and enjoy for awhile before making big upgrades. Ideally, I would like to be able to get photos of the moon, Jupiter, and Saturn but also some of the brighter DSOs. I would be happy with the Orion Nebula, M51 and M31. My understanding is that terrestrials and DSO require very different gear, and trying to do both often results in poor results. I don’t expect to get great detail and expect everything to be trash for awhile.

I’m working with a initial budget of $500 but I don’t mind spending more on upgrades along the way. I just want something that will keep me satisfied for a year or two on that initial budget.

I have seen a few different makes of 102mm refractors and 4-5” reflectors that seem like they could accomplish what I would like to do, but not sure if it is realistic to photo all the things I’m interested in. Any thoughts on this telescope: Explore Scientific FirstLight 500mm f/4.3 Telescope, EXOS Nano EQ3 Mount? I am Open to suggestions. Thanks!!

#2 X-Lurker

X-Lurker

Underpaid Slacker

• Loc: N.W. Ark.

Posted 07 July 2020 - 06:30 PM