•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

Ieq 30 mount not working with PHD@

mount
  • Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

#1 elsmain

elsmain

Lift Off

• -----
  • topic starter

Posted 07 July 2020 - 11:37 PM

Trying to setup PHD2 using an Ioptron IEQ30 mount.  I'm struggling to make it work.

1.  Not sure if I have found the right driver for the Mount setting under Connect Equipment.  Using: "IOptron ASCOM Driver for 2013 and earlier mounts" and also trying "ZWO USBST4 ASCOM" for my ZWO guiding scope.  The ZWO driver at least lets me "connect" - but i'm not sure what i'm connecting...  I have also tried the "on camera" setting which has also let me "connect".

2.  Regardless of driver and whether it connects, I keep getting the error that the mount does not accept the pulse-guide command and the program fails and closes.

I'm new at this and at a complete loss.  Any ideas would be greatly appreciated!!!!

Thanks, Eric

#2 mehdymo

mehdymo

Mariner 2

• ****-
  • Loc: Florida

Posted 08 July 2020 - 12:23 AM

You have to choose which method you wanna use, ASCOM or ST4. ASCOM would be better and easier. You need a cable to connect your mount directly to your PC. Something like this:

https://www.amazon.c...e/dp/B07HL9Y23B

Install Ioptron ASCOM and your camera driver (no need for ST4). Then, use this cable and plug it into the RS232 port on your mount and connect it to your PC usb port. After that, you can find them in PHD2 easily.

It would be easier to help if you explain how you are connected to your PC.

Thanks

Edited by mehdymo, 08 July 2020 - 12:26 AM.

#3 mehdymo

mehdymo

Mariner 2

• ****-

Posted 08 July 2020 - 12:28 AM

See page 38 of the manual for both Pro and non-Pro versions.

#4 elsmain

elsmain

Lift Off

• -----
  • topic starter

Posted 09 July 2020 - 08:27 AM