•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

Newbie here... how to do drift alignment

• Please log in to reply
13 replies to this topic

#1 Bc0428

Bc0428

Sputnik

• -----
  • topic starter

Posted 08 July 2020 - 12:55 AM

Hello, just bought my cem25p but i have no idea how to do polar alignment...

i live in low latitude and bortle 8 skies, polaris is blocked by mountains and stars are not highly visible with naked eyes, but jupiter is easy to spot, can it be done with jupiter?

i have been searching for the tutorial like using phd2 but it seems i just cant get the idea behind it... is there any tutorials that are short and precise could be recommended ?

besides, is there any easier way to do it with cem25p? It seems ioptron mounts have functions like iterate, 2/3 stars alignment etc, but im confused by it, so what should i do specifically.

Edited by Bc0428, 08 July 2020 - 01:17 AM.

• gpsfool likes this

#2 brian32672

brian32672

Sputnik

• Loc: Ft. Lauderdale, Florida

Posted 08 July 2020 - 01:41 AM

Easiest way to find Polaris (as I live in bortle 8 ~ 8.5) Is to use a tablet, or smartphone (that has gps) and use the free program Stellarium.

And make sure you can not see it due to blockage. This is assuming you can even see the big dipper. I can not (most times).

You can also look at most houses that run east/west the highest point to the north from behind house looking over roof, will be aligned within 2 degrees of Polaris.

#3 FlankerOneTwo

FlankerOneTwo

Viking 1

• Loc: Vegas, baby!

Posted 08 July 2020 - 04:24 AM

Not too hard with PHD2. I've recently just started doing this, because I cannot see Polaris from my house either. I haven't used the iOptron Polar Align Iteration, couldn't tell you if it's easier or faster.