•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

What do you do, or hope to do, with your images?

• Please log in to reply
36 replies to this topic

#1 RMM

RMM

Lift Off

• -----
  • topic starter
  • Loc: New Zealand

Posted 08 July 2020 - 02:15 AM

Hey, I'm curious as to what people do or hope to do with their astrophotography images?

I recently bought my first 'serious' telescope, I've been a keen photographer for most of my life and astrophotography has always been very alluring to me. However in the end the cost of it put me off and I've decided to go down the observing only route (for now) with a 10" dobsonian. But the incredibly high cost got me wondering what people do with, or hope to achieve with their astrophotography? Do you print the photos and frame them for your walls? Do you sell them? Do you hope to contribute to scientific research in some way? Or do you just want to catalogue the sky? Or do you just enjoy the challenge?

I'm definitely not suggesting that the hobby is not worth the investment I'd be joining you all in a heart beat if I had more disposable income, and for me I'm mostly interested in the challenge and the science of light.

• Bean614, Diomedes and meegja like this

#2 idclimber

idclimber

Mariner 2

• -----
  • Loc: McCall Idaho

Posted 08 July 2020 - 02:32 AM

I am not nearly as interested in the result as I am in the journey. Nothing I have tried has been as hard or as rewarding. 

• numchuck, gundark, dhalgren and 2 others like this

#3 james7ca

james7ca

Cosmos

• Loc: San Diego, CA

Posted 08 July 2020 - 02:53 AM

The journey is the reward, at least for me. Well, that and my awe of the universe (the images never get old and it amazes me what can be done with today's technology). However, I do get some notice for my images, from family, friends, and on the social networks.