•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

Autoguiding Problem

• Please log in to reply
8 replies to this topic

#1 AstroSWAYZE

AstroSWAYZE

Lift Off

• -----
  • topic starter

Posted 08 July 2020 - 07:44 PM

Hello all,

First time posting, and apologies already as I know this topic has been discussed at length before. However, I believe I may have a unique situation that I need support with. I am very new to astrophotography and have only carried out 4 successful imagining sessions so far.

Here is the problem, and I will try to keep it short:

I have a ASI120Mini for my guide camera. I use PHD2 for autoguiding. I connect the camera to PHD2, and then use "on camera" for the mount and utilize the ST4 connection. I successfully carried out 4 autoguiding sessions on my first mount (iOptron SmartEQ Pro) using this setup. However, all the sudden it wasn't guiding correctly one night. It was giving me the cable snag error (there were no snags). After doing some research, it appears the ST4 cables/connections are notoriously finicky. That being said, after visually inspecting the ends of the ST4 cables and both ports on the camera and mount, I ended up just purchasing a new ST4 cable.

With the new cable connected, same issue.

I have also attempted to use the "manual guiding tool" for both ST4 cables, set the pulse to 5000ms, and still nothing when sending commands N/S/E/W.

Just a few days ago, I ended up getting my brand new Skywatcher HEQ5 Pro mount. (Nothing negative about the iOptron, just decided to upgrade for payload capacity options.) 

Same issue. It will not allow me to use manual guiding to send commands to the mount.