•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

I guess i am old fashioned...

• Please log in to reply
69 replies to this topic

#1 clusterbuster

clusterbuster

Viking 1

• topic starter
  • Loc: Tampa Bay, Fl.

Posted 09 July 2020 - 02:51 AM

I see LOTS of people getting into Astronomy, and saying; Hi, I am new to Astronomy, i want to get a BIG TELESCOPE and do Astrophotography....

Astronomy is a very broad hobby, I do beleive that if one goes directly into AP, they truly miss out on the JOY that VISUAL ASTRONOMY and GENERAL OBSERVING can bring them.

Also if they are not familiar with the DSOs, they are already at a loss.

Just my 2 cents worth.

I hope that my post does not offend anyone, I believe in the old LIVE AND LET LIVE philosophy...

Clear Skies

Mark

Edited by clusterbuster, 09 July 2020 - 02:53 AM.

• CollinofAlabama, Ptarmigan, stevew and 21 others like this

#2 havasman

havasman

Voyager 1

• Loc: Dallas, Texas

Posted 09 July 2020 - 03:07 AM

We agree on that for sure.

• CollinofAlabama and Augustus like this

#3 edwincjones

edwincjones

Close Enough

Posted 09 July 2020 - 04:03 AM

the old wisdom

1-learn the naked eye sky with an atlas

2-binoculars

3-small telescope

4-bigger when know above

5-then AP, maybe

edj

Edited by edwincjones, 09 July 2020 - 04:04 AM.

• Starman1, esd726, Tim Hager and 19 others like this

#4 clearwaterdave

clearwaterdave

Aurora

• Loc: Western Maine

Posted 09 July 2020 - 04:10 AM

What I find confusing is when someone post.," New guy here.,got my scope.,what's next".,.And they live in borte 8 skies.,What got someone living in such light polluted skies interested in astronomy in the first place?..,To each his own I guess.,lol.,

• clusterbuster likes this

#5 Jon Isaacs

Jon Isaacs

ISS

• Loc: San Diego and Boulevard, CA

Posted 09 July 2020 - 04:26 AM