•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

Observing with a 5" Maksutov - what to expect

• Please log in to reply
15 replies to this topic

#1 jesco_t

jesco_t

Sputnik

• -----
  • topic starter
  • Loc: Hamburg, Germany

Posted 09 July 2020 - 04:37 AM

I am pretty new to visual observing. I have been doing DSO imaging  for almost a year now, but almost exclusively with camera lenses. I got myself a 5" Maksutov to shoot the moon and planets and decided to peek through an eyepiece out of curiosity... and I liked what I saw. I know visual observing is a different beast than photography - I know that you see much less but like that you actually *see* it with your own eyes.

Now since I am very green behind my ears on this subject, I'd like to get my expectations right. I appreciate any feedback from you experienced guys. Especially on how much my dark site will improve my experience. I know that without a scope, the difference is mind-blowing - instead of 30-40 stars there's a few hundred to thousand visible. At my dark site Vega almost hurts to look at, it's so bright.

Sky Brightness & Equipment

My home is about 19.5 mag sqm (my southern horizon is actually red Bortle 7 due to an adjacent 2 million people city), but I have a camp site with is 21 mag sqm. So far I only observed from home; work, family and COVID-19 being the culprits.

I have a 32mm Plössl with 50° FOV, a 12mm eyepiece with 60° FOV (NED12 from TS-Optics) and a decent 2x Barlow which I know is good from my planetary imaging.

Globular Clusters