•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

Which scope altair f11ed vs 6"GSO CC

• Please log in to reply
13 replies to this topic

#1 ScottW

ScottW

Messenger

• topic starter

Posted 09 July 2020 - 09:37 AM

Hi,

I'll be posting this question twice, here and in the Cat forum, so I don't miss anyones input.

Which would be the better choice?  I'm not a beginner and know the strengths and weakness of both designs but have no experience with cats.  I would be purchascing either without that benifit. Mounting of either is not a problem nor are any related associated equipment.

I am a 100% visual observer and will stay that way.  My major areas of observations are double stars and the moon. I wish not to buy a headache, a scope that I must fiddle with.  I want as best star presentaion that a scope of this price range can have.

Thanks for any help,

Scott

#2 Hesiod

Hesiod

Skylab

Posted 09 July 2020 - 10:01 AM

As far as "star presentation" and "fiddling", the refractor has for sure the edge; and as long as can deal with its not trivial ergonomics, for the planned use a good 4" makes a lot of sense.

"CATs" (or "CASSes" as in the present case) can be very proficient too, but are more "complex" in their design and therefore, at a given price, more likely to have compromises than Newtonians (by the way, why not a Newtonian?) or refractors.

If a given optical quality can be assured to you, or have the possibility to toroughly test it, those extra 2" have for sure a weight; however have to live with spiked stars and be ready to adjust the optical elements sometimes (those CC may be "nasty" since both mirrors and the focusers could be adjusted, unlike SCTs and most MCTs where have just a single optical element adjustable, and for the rest are hit or miss).