•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

Help with Nexstar eyepieces

Celestron eyepieces beginner
  • Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

#1 jvb1

jvb1

Lift Off

• -----
  • topic starter
  • Loc: Tampa, FL

Posted 10 July 2020 - 06:17 AM

I’m new to all this and would appreciate some help with eyepieces.  I have a Nexstar 6SE that will be used for occasional backyard moon and planet gazing.  Work and family commitments mean my partner and I get very little time to use the telescope (just twice in one year so far since we got it!) so I can't justify spending on a huge collection of EPs.  All I want is a high magnification EP for moon/planets and a lower power EP for more distant stuff to improve on the cheap 25mm plossl that came with the telescope. I’m considering a 7mm EP for moon/planet watching, but having read various forums some people say a 7mm EP would be great with a 6SE, others that a 7mm EP would be terrible with the 6SE.  So could someone please give me a straight answer: will I get decent views (for a complete amateur) of the Moon, Saturn and Jupiter from our backyard with a 7mm EP or won’t I, and if I won’t, could you back that up with reasons why I won't?  Finally, if the consensus is that a 7mm EP wouldn’t be suitable, would a 9mm EP be okay with the 6SE?

Many thanks and stay safe everyone.

#2 sg6

sg6

Cosmos

• Loc: Norfolk, UK.

Posted 10 July 2020 - 06:55 AM

6SE so 1500mm focal length, f/10.

My thoughts 30mm plossl, 18-20mm, 12mm, 10mm, 8mm.

30 for wide and alignment should deliver around 1 degree view.

18-20 for a bit middle field around 0.5 degree.

The 8, 10, 12 for the higher end - 3 because if the 8mm is too much the 10mm might be OK and if not the 12mm should.

8mm will give 190x(ish).