•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

Looking for my first "nicer" eyepiece - Advice welcome!

• Please log in to reply
25 replies to this topic

#1 NDLaw

NDLaw

Explorer 1

• -----
  • topic starter

Posted 10 July 2020 - 06:55 AM

My current setup is an Orion 130ST I picked up for free about a year ago.  The eyepieces I have been using are these:

https://www.telescop...2160/p/8890.uts

I am looking to get my first "higher quality" eyepiece -- one that is not completely wasted on a 130ST but that will also be useful to me if I get an upgraded scope in the future.  The Orion 5mm Stratus caught my eye:

https://www.telescop...me=SortByRating

I primarily enjoy looking at the moon, Jupiter, and Saturn.  Once I am able to get my scope up to my family's farm in the middle of nowhere, I am going to explore other objects.  As a complete beginner, I have to ask: Is the 5mm Status a good option for me here?  If anyone has other suggestions, I am all ears!

Thanks! 

#2 N5SE

N5SE

Sputnik

• -----

Posted 10 July 2020 - 07:11 AM

You should probably look at the TeleVue range.

• moonrakercat likes this

#3 NDLaw

NDLaw

Explorer 1

• -----
  • topic starter

Posted 10 July 2020 - 07:12 AM

Also: Given the weaknesses of the focuser on the 130ST, I was thinking of picking up the Orion AccuFocus to assist with the focusing...  I think trying to use the rack & pinion focuser on this scope with a higher magnification eyepiece would not be fun...

#4 bigdob24

bigdob24

Apollo

• Loc: Central Illinois

Posted 10 July 2020 - 07:28 AM

Look at the TV Delos line. 
I have the whole set and love them. 
Same coatings as the Ethos line , lots of eye relief adjustment and provide nice crisp sharp views

• 25585 likes this

#5 JoshUrban

JoshUrban

Mariner 2

• Loc: Indian Head, MD

Posted 10 July 2020 - 07:34 AM