•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

Light weight APO refractor vs Telephoto

astrophotography refractor dslr imaging
  • Please log in to reply
19 replies to this topic

#1 Hyperion2

Hyperion2

Lift Off

• -----
  • topic starter

Posted 10 July 2020 - 08:43 AM

Hi, I’ve been doing Astrophotography for about 3 years now and I want to start investing in a guide scope and telescope. I’m using the sky adventurer for tracking so I’m wondering if there are any good light weight (And inexpensive) refractors? Or should I consider buying fast telephoto lens?
Thank you!
  • lee14 likes this

#2 Hyperion2

Hyperion2

Lift Off

• -----
  • topic starter

Posted 10 July 2020 - 08:48 AM

I should also include some details the payload capacity is 11lbs and at some point I want to begin guiding.

#3 lee14

lee14

Viking 1

• Loc: CNY

Posted 10 July 2020 - 08:54 AM

Inexpensive is a pretty subjective term. There is a fairly wide price range for what people people would consider a 'good' apo. The main difference between a telephoto and even a fast apo is likely to be focal length. If your main objective is wide field, go with the camera lens. If you'd like to get a decent image scale for smaller objects, the scope will best serve you. Additionally, many folks here recommend not exceeding half the rated capacity of a mount for AP. Mounts vary significantly, but maxing out the capacity of a relatively inexpensive mount will not provide the best tracking results.

Lee

• Hyperion2 likes this

#4 Jim R

Jim R

Vostok 1

Posted 10 July 2020 - 09:04 AM

Try the space cat or one of the many variants of 60mm f6 doublet.

#5 Jim R

Jim R

Vostok 1

Posted 10 July 2020 - 09:06 AM

Again, as Lee said, inexpensive is a relative term. Space cat about $800 but the doublet can occasionally be found used for about $300 including a flattener.
  • lee14 likes this