•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

New To Astrophotography Equipment Setup

astrophotography beginner equipment
  • Please log in to reply
8 replies to this topic

#1 Shawn56

Shawn56

Lift Off

• -----
  • topic starter

Posted 10 July 2020 - 02:22 PM

Hello Everyone, 
I am new to astrophotography, I have ha d a passion for photography and space since I was a child, and now finally find myself with the time and income to support a hobby I have always wanted to start, and share it with my kids. I have been doing a lot of research and have been putting a few different builds together but I figured it would be a good idea to reach out to the community and get some input before I pull the trigger on any purchases. Thank you in advance for anyone willing to help a newbie out! 

Below is the equipment I have in mind certainly open to any suggestion and feedback for any other recommended products. 

Mount: SKY-WATCHER EQ6-R PRO EQUATORIAL GO-TO MOUNT - $1,595 

Telescope: SKY-WATCHER 100MM ESPRIT ED TRIPLET APO REFRACTOR - $2,499

Camera: SKY-WATCHER STARLIGHT XPRESS TRIUS SX-42 MONOCHROME CAMERA KIT - $3,595.00

I also own a Sony A7RIII That I was debating using as the camera to start off with, and perhaps getting a more expensive mount for future upgrade potential. Sadly I cant find any sony adapters in stock anywhere, I would have to use a canon adapter and then a canon-sky-watcher adapter. 

Guide lens and camera - still needing recommendation 

I know the mount is an extremely important piece, so any input on the mount would be greatly appreciated. 

#2 bjulihn

bjulihn

Mariner 2

• -----
  • Loc: Langley, BC. Canada

Posted 10 July 2020 - 03:10 PM

Hi Shawn56;