•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

Optical Differences Telescope vs Telephoto Lens?

• Please log in to reply
7 replies to this topic

#1 skD1amond

skD1amond

Lift Off

• -----
  • topic starter
  • Loc: Portland Oregon

Posted 12 July 2020 - 07:47 PM

I'm new to astrophotography (and photography for that matter). I've been looking at equipment and I have a fairly basic question about mounting a camera to a telescope or using a telephoto lens. To make this a little more concrete I came up with the following example

Telephoto Lens Sigma 100-400mm f/5-6.3 DG DN OS

Specs: f/6.3, focal length: 400 mm, aperture: 63.5mm, price $949

Refractor Telescope -  William Optics Guide Star 61 APO Refractor Telescope

Specs: f/5.9, focal length: 360 mm, aperture: 61mm, price $398

The specs seem comparable. Well, the telephoto lens is more than twice the price but I also end up with a zoom lens that I can use for the rest of my photography. There are other differences with respect to ease of mounting, detector options, etc. but my question is about the optics. Is there anything special about telescope optics that is different than for telephoto lenses? 

#2 Michael Covington

Michael Covington

Author

• Vendors
  • Loc: Athens, Georgia, USA

Posted 12 July 2020 - 08:09 PM

OK, further complicating the picture is the fact that you named a telescope designed for astrophotography.  First let's consider:

Telescope (conventional):  Designed to be as sharp as possible at the center of the field.  Designed for a fixed f-ratio.

Telephoto lens:  Designed to be reasonably sharp over a wide field.  Designed for many f-ratios (that is, it should work well at any setting of the f-stop).