•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

newbie, what should i expect to see through my telescope?

• Please log in to reply
16 replies to this topic

#1 coderman1

coderman1

Lift Off

• -----
  • topic starter
  • Loc: dallas, texas

Posted 12 July 2020 - 11:59 PM

i’m just getting started but i can tel after a few minutes the following:

1. i can see the moon perfectly, very crisp, high detail
2. as far as stars, all i see are white specs, skills i be seeing something more? if so, what?
3. i still can’t get the sky align process to work, but i can manually slew to stars like arcturus, but again it’s nothing spectacular just a white spec

thanks in advance!
  • aeajr likes this

#2 aeajr

aeajr

Voyager 1

• Loc: Long Island, New York, USA

Posted 13 July 2020 - 12:04 AM

2. as far as stars, all i see are white specs, skills i be seeing something more? if so, what?
3. i still can’t get the sky align process to work, but i can manually slew to stars like arcturus, but again it’s nothing spectacular just a white spec

thanks in advance!

It would help a LOT if we knew what telescope you have, what eyepieces you have and what kind of mount  you are using.

Stars are VERY far away and will always look like points of light.  However some are double stars and it can be fun to split those.

Tips:

Top right of the screen you will see your screen name with a little down arrow.
Go to My Settings.  This is where you can make a number of changes.

COUNTRY/REGION/STATE:  A good thing to do, if you have not, is to go into
your profile and enter your country and/or your city so people who are
trying to help you will know approximately where you are in the world. 

SIGNATURE:   Also, I recommend you create a signature (my settings)
where you can list your telescope your eyepieces or whatever you wish.  My