•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

Not having a pleasant experience with my reflector

• Please log in to reply
18 replies to this topic

#1 Nikolai

Nikolai

Lift Off

• -----
  • topic starter

Posted 13 July 2020 - 07:29 PM

Hello folks.
I'm new to this hobby. Before finding this site and reading up on the new hobby, I picked up a refractor from ES on sale. The aluminium fork mount was terrible, so after looking around at the prices for a decent mount I decided to go with a cheap ES Explore One reflector. I have to say the mount is great compared to the aluminium one. It had some play to it but tightening one nut took care of most of it. So now I have a decent (I can only compare it to the other one I have) mount and two cheap telescopes.
Yesterday afternoon I noticed the moon was up and decided to take a look. It was the first time that I used my reflector. The view would have been great if not for the spider and the secondary being visible ever so slightly, that ruined the whole experience. I added a barlow and the spider disappeared. I guess what I want to know is if anyone else had this issue and is there a different way to solve this. (Other than getting an expensive telescope) The telescope is Explore One, 114mm Aurora II, f/l 500mm. I did spend a few days learning how to collimate it prior to using it. I think I did everything correctly but could that be related? Or is it because the telescope is so fast? Or is it simply because it is so cheap?

#2 bobzeq25

bobzeq25

ISS

Posted 13 July 2020 - 07:35 PM

Hello folks.