•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

Eyepiece brightness question

• Please log in to reply
11 replies to this topic

#1 BPoletti

BPoletti

Explorer 1

• topic starter

Posted 13 July 2020 - 08:48 PM

Greetings,

I am a relative noob with a Celestron Nexstar 8SE for about 6 weeks.  I take it back on the deck in suburban St. Louis 15 miles or so east of downtown.  Still plenty of glorious light pollution.  But I'm having a lot of fun and learning the scope.  I'm quite happy with the scope.  

My compliment of eyepieces include Celestron Plossls in 32mm and 40mm.  But I have become particularly partial to wide field eyepieces of medium focal lengths.  I also am using a 2" diagonal and visual back.

With the 8SE field stop of around 39mm, does it make sense to get an eyepiece, say a decent 62 degree or wider 32mm or 40mm thgat has a field stop around the same or larger than the 8SE to get a brighter wide field image of the sky even with a little vignetting?  By using a larger section of the light coming into the eyepiece, does that at all enhance the image?  Or all all the individual objects the same brightness, just larger with shorter focal length lenses?  (Did I just answer my own question?)

If I head to dark skies (REALLY dark skies) do the long focal length lenses make for better viewing?   

Some things are just not completely intuitive.  At least to me.  

Thanks for your help,

Bill

#2 Jon Isaacs

Jon Isaacs

ISS

• Loc: San Diego and Boulevard, CA

Posted 13 July 2020 - 09:03 PM

Bill:

I'm glad you're enjoying your scope.

Your question is a good one. This is how I see it:

The largest possible field stop for a 2 inch eyepiece is 46 mm. Even though the rear port/rear baffle is 38 mm, it's far enough away and far enough out of focus that you won't see it.  A camera would see it, your eye won't.