•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

Upside and downside of a 8SE or 9.25 evo scope?

• Please log in to reply
35 replies to this topic

#1 JJack

JJack

Ranger 4

• -----
  • topic starter
  • Loc: Midwest

Posted 14 July 2020 - 02:39 PM

I'm thinking of adding a 3rd scope (100ED and 10 inch Dob currently) and it's been suggested I look at an 8SE or 9.25 Evo... could members share the ups and downs and ins and outs of those?  They seem to be portable (just barely) so that's probably as big as i'd want to go.  Looking for something with GoTo 

I'm still a bit of a newbie and trying to avoid surprises like I had with the Dob ("they're great, once you add coma correction and spacers and they like expensive eyepieces...") - for example, I think I read they're more prone to fogging - also that the FL is long, is that right?

Visual only.  Reasonable skies Bortle 5 and sometimes I travel to dark skies.

Budget is 1000-2500 or so.  If there are other scopes I should consider please fire away

Thanks

Edited by JJack, 14 July 2020 - 02:42 PM.

#2 gnowellsct

gnowellsct

Hubble

Posted 14 July 2020 - 03:02 PM

SCTs are prone to fogging and it's a problem that has to be actively managed.  If you're in IL WI OH IN etc it's probably an issue.  If you're in NE or KA it probably isn't.

Eventually you should put your refractor on top of your SCT.   I could not pull that off on your current budget though.  You would need a good mount for starters, and that will eat up budget.

I think an SCT paired with a refractor on a solid dependable mount is a terrific way to enjoy the sky.  

regards

Greg N

c8 with Vixen 102mm 4 inch.jpg

Edited by gnowellsct, 14 July 2020 - 03:04 PM.

• George N and JJack like this

#3 junomike

junomike

Hubble

• Moderators
  • Loc: Ontario

Posted 14 July 2020 - 03:13 PM