•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

Celestron Advanced VX advice.

beginner equipment mount
  • Please log in to reply
18 replies to this topic

#1 ArandomPilot

ArandomPilot

Lift Off

• topic starter
  • Loc: Winter Park, Colorado

Posted 14 July 2020 - 03:26 PM

I recently bought a Celestron AVX mount to begin AP. I am soon going to buy the scope (Orion Eon 115, camera is SBIG ST-2000XM, total weight should be around 20lbs for optical train). I am fairly new to EQ mounts, and today was finally able to focus the polar scope while not making the Octans and constellations disappear. So I am looking for tips and tricks for the AVX mount. I'm still going over the features of the mount and getting used to it. I am still having a hard time finding Polaris (unsure which one is Polaris), not sure about the polar align feature. There's a whole lot to this mount I am unsure of, but its cool to slew around and try to point it at certain objects. Any tips I should know?

Thanks,

Gabe.

#2 WadeH237

WadeH237

Fly Me to the Moon

• Loc: Snohomish, WA

Posted 14 July 2020 - 03:52 PM

If you've not bought the scope yet, my biggest suggestion is to hold off to do some more research.

In my opinion, that scope is too much for the AVX.  It's not just a matter of weight.  That size scope has a long moment arm and will be difficult for the mount to handle unless conditions are perfect.  Also, it's a considerably longer focal length than I would suggest for an AVX (or for learning to image).

My standard suggestion for imaging with an AVX is to go with an 80mm or smaller refractor.  The longest focal length I would recommend is 600mm, but 480mm is even better.  An 80mm, F/6, triplet refractor is probably an ideal match for deep sky imaging on an AVX.