•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

Trouble with PHD2 Autoguiding | Beginner

astrophotography beginner equipment imaging mount dso
  • Please log in to reply
16 replies to this topic

#1 astroricco

astroricco

Lift Off

• -----
  • topic starter
  • Loc: Vienna, Austria (Wiener Schnitzel)

Posted 15 July 2020 - 03:29 AM

Hello Astro Community,

i am new to this forum and i have made this account because i hope to get an answert or a solution-hint to my "strange" autoguiding problem with phd2 / telescope setup. At first i want to mention that i am a beginner regarding to autoguiding but i have read and watched many tutorials online about it so i would claim that i am familiar with the basics.

Before i start to explain the Problem i want to inform you about my setup:

• Mount: Skywatcher AZEQ6
  • Telescope: Skywatcher ESPRIT 80 ED
  • GuideScope: GuideScope50 180mm
  • GuidingCam: ZWO ASI 120 Mini
  • Laptop for PHD: DELL Latitude 7490 Windows 10
  • PHD Version:  2.6.9
  • The guide-cam is connected from the ST4-Port to the guide port of my azeq6 (currently i use "on-camera" and not the ascom eqmod cable)

My approach for Autoguiding:

1. Balance the Esprit 80 ED with the counterweights on the AZEQ6 mount (For now i always tried to balance it as best as i can but because of the GuideScope50 there is an asymmetry, so the telescope is slightly unbalanced at any time)
  2. Polar-Align the mount (as precise as possible - I was told that an polar error of under 5' seconds should be okay for autoguiding but i try to bring it always to nearly zero)
  3. 3-Star Alignment with the GoTo-SynScanHand-Control 
  4. If Polar-Alignment-Error is to big, i use the Polar-Alignment Function of the SynScanHand-Control to reduced it to the minimum (Look at the Picture from my hand Control - polaralignment-error.jpeg)