•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

PHD2 Guiding Assistant - Seeing Indication?

• Please log in to reply
8 replies to this topic

#1 KTAZ

KTAZ

Apollo

• topic starter
  • Loc: Scottsdale, AZ

Posted 15 July 2020 - 12:36 PM

I am pretty new to PHD2 and am in the process of learning how to effectively guide.

The PHD2 tutorials include a comment about using GA to assess seeing, "It may help to run the Guiding Assistant periodically to get a sense of the typical seeing conditions at your site...".

After looking at the logs, there does not seem to be any specific FWHM type of seeing measurement. Does this exist? Does this info need to be extropolated and, if so, how is it done?

#2 SilverLitz

SilverLitz

Apollo

• -----
  • Loc: Louisville, KY

Posted 15 July 2020 - 02:40 PM

I expect that looking at the High Frequency statistic (I believe in the upper right) gets you a handle on seeing related conditions.

My newbie intuition on this is that is a measure of the best you can achieve (for the given night), even with perfect PA and PEC.  It would be what is left and uncorrectable, and is basically seeing related.  This will vary from night to night.   I have seen this as high as 0.7" on some hot, steamy steamy nights, and my location has better seeing (typically ~1.5") than most locations, and those nights my actual guiding was > 1.0" RMS.   In nice conditions, I have recently had realized total RMS below 0.5".

Edited by SilverLitz, 15 July 2020 - 02:41 PM.

• KTAZ likes this

#3 StephenW

StephenW

Apollo

• -----
  • Loc: San Jose, CA

Posted 15 July 2020 - 02:53 PM

>I expect that looking at the High Frequency statistic (I believe in the upper right) gets you a handle on seeing related conditions.