Jump to content

  •  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

NINA Beginner having trouble retrieving image

  • Please log in to reply
21 replies to this topic

#1 SilverLitz

SilverLitz

    Apollo

  • -----
  • topic starter
  • Posts: 1,233
  • Joined: 17 Feb 2018
  • Loc: Louisville, KY

Posted 15 July 2020 - 09:35 PM

I am trying out NINA, but NINA is  having trouble retrieving image from the ASI183mm-Pro.  Error messages:

 

Error retrieving image data from camera

 

Camera download failed.

 

I expect this is due to my total inexperience.  Is there any trick to this?

 

I have tried a couple of times, but each time NINA:

1) connects to all my equipment (camera, filterwheel, focuser, mount)

2) it slews 

3) it seems to platesolve; ASTAP does not work (missing database), but PS2 (which I use for APT) works

4) but I cannot get it to give me a liveview loop to get focus

 

Tonight it seem to initial capture an image for platesolve, but after that I get errors.  I tried opening Sharpcap to try to give me something to focus, but I have use Sharpcap very little and I did not get that to work.  I thought that connecting Sharpcap may have messed up the connect to NINA.  So I shut down Sharpcap, and still get the NINA error.

 

I was going to give tonight more time trying to get NINA to work.  The past couple of nights I needed to image before the weather gets bad again, so I gave up and went to APT to capture.

 

I want NINA to AF, with my Celestron Focus Motor.  I have been having to focus manually w/ Baht mask when using APT.



#2 SilverLitz

SilverLitz

    Apollo

  • -----
  • topic starter
  • Posts: 1,233
  • Joined: 17 Feb 2018
  • Loc: Louisville, KY

Posted 15 July 2020 - 09:37 PM

When I just tried to disconnect the ASI183, NINA hangs up (Not Responding).



#3 nimitz69

nimitz69

    Mercury-Atlas

  • *****
  • Posts: 2,751
  • Joined: 21 Apr 2017
  • Loc: A barrier island 18 miles south of Cocoa Beach

Posted 15 July 2020 - 09:48 PM

Sounds like camera driver issues. Which ASCOM driver are you using for the camera?

#4 khursh

khursh

    Viking 1

  • ****-
  • Posts: 682
  • Joined: 23 Jan 2018

Posted 15 July 2020 - 10:05 PM

NINA has issues with using 32 bit drivers with the 64 bit application



#5 ezwheels

ezwheels

    Apollo

  • *****
  • Posts: 1,218
  • Joined: 04 Jul 2017
  • Loc: Oakland, CA.

Posted 15 July 2020 - 10:18 PM

Use the native ZWO driver if you have it installed. If you don't have it installed you should download it and use it. NINA should also ship with the native support for ZWO cameras so updating NINA should also update the native driver. 

 

If you are not already I would recommend to use the latest 1.10b build. It is stable and pretty much done. In general it is best to always match drivers to the NINA version. So if you use the x86 NINA you need 32 bit drivers. If you use the x64 NINA get 64 bit drivers. I would also recommend downloading the G17 database for ASTAP. ASTAP is incredibly fast and robust.... like a couple of seconds to plate solve fast. 

 

Lastly, I would recommend joining the Discord and asking for help there. Folks are active pretty much 24/7 and you will get much better help with technical issues and often in real time.  

 

I definitely feel that NINA and the community around it are worth the effort.


  • DSOs4Me likes this

#6 SilverLitz

SilverLitz

    Apollo

  • -----
  • topic starter
  • Posts: 1,233
  • Joined: 17 Feb 2018
  • Loc: Louisville, KY

Posted 15 July 2020 - 10:36 PM

Sounds like camera driver issues. Which ASCOM driver are you using for the camera?

NINA Camera.png



#7 tkottary

tkottary

    Viking 1

  • *****
  • Posts: 561
  • Joined: 06 Dec 2015
  • Loc: SunnyVale ,CA

Posted 15 July 2020 - 10:40 PM

What version of Nina ?



#8 SilverLitz

SilverLitz

    Apollo

  • -----
  • topic starter
  • Posts: 1,233
  • Joined: 17 Feb 2018
  • Loc: Louisville, KY

Posted 15 July 2020 - 10:51 PM

I disconnected the camera from APT and reopened NINA and it connects, and captures.  It seems to have problems if other programs are connected to the camera.

 

But 5s (L, unity gain) shot shows almost nothing (magic stretch clicked) compared to APT whose autostretch clearly shows many stars.  Even 30s shows next to nothing.

 

Slewing does not seem to automatically platesolve and iterate until it zeroes in.



#9 SilverLitz

SilverLitz

    Apollo

  • -----
  • topic starter
  • Posts: 1,233
  • Joined: 17 Feb 2018
  • Loc: Louisville, KY

Posted 15 July 2020 - 10:52 PM

What version of Nina ?

1.10 RC005, a nightly from a few nights ago



#10 SilverLitz

SilverLitz

    Apollo

  • -----
  • topic starter
  • Posts: 1,233
  • Joined: 17 Feb 2018
  • Loc: Louisville, KY

Posted 15 July 2020 - 10:55 PM

I am going to shut it down for the night, we are starting to get clouds and forecast has rain chance for the next few days.

 

I am going to take the scope/cam/electronics inside and cover the mount w/ large plastic trash can + tarp.



#11 TXDigiSLR

TXDigiSLR

    Mariner 2

  • -----
  • Posts: 247
  • Joined: 02 Jan 2020
  • Loc: Dallas, TX

Posted 15 July 2020 - 11:00 PM

Check your cable.  I had the same issue with my 1600mm Pro.   Every now and then it just gave me the same errors.  I changed cables and haven't had the problem since.


  • DSOs4Me likes this

#12 OldManSky

OldManSky

    Skylab

  • *****
  • Posts: 4,418
  • Joined: 03 Jan 2019
  • Loc: Valley Center, CA USA

Posted 15 July 2020 - 11:07 PM

As above -- don't use the ASCOM driver.  Use the native driver (it will say "ZWO ASI 183MM Pro" in the NINA dropdown).

I have the same camera, and it's working fine in NINA for over a year...same driver version as you have above (1,15, 0617).

So do check your cables...

A 1-sec exposure at gain 100 offset 10 on Vega shows Vega and around 80-100 other stars with autostretch on.

 

You will indeed have problems connecting the any ASI camera to 2 different apps at the same time (not a NINA thing, an ASI driver thing).  And you might have to reset (power off, remove USB cable, cable back in, power on) the camera after another app has been using it before NINA can.  One app at a time for cameras.

 

Good luck :)


  • Aaron_tragle likes this

#13 colinrm

colinrm

    Vostok 1

  • -----
  • Posts: 165
  • Joined: 16 Sep 2019
  • Loc: Akron, Ohio

Posted 15 July 2020 - 11:08 PM

I have the same error sometimes.  Usually, I just need to manually take a few images and they start coming through.  Switching between programs using the same camera always shows that error.



#14 TXDigiSLR

TXDigiSLR

    Mariner 2

  • -----
  • Posts: 247
  • Joined: 02 Jan 2020
  • Loc: Dallas, TX

Posted 16 July 2020 - 01:11 AM

I've recently only been using NINA for everything.  In the past I used Sharpcap to Focus and Polar Align.    I found out as others have said, if I use another app that connects to the camera then try to use NINA, I get weird errors.

 

I always shut every other app down completely, and then start NINA fresh and connect everything from within NINA.  Sometimes I'll even reboot before starting NINA.

 

The good thing is that NINA's autofocus seems to work great for me, and once you're focused there really is no need to drastically refocus ever again.  Maybe just a minor adjustment here or there.



#15 kisstek

kisstek

    Viking 1

  • *****
  • Posts: 642
  • Joined: 25 Jul 2018

Posted 16 July 2020 - 01:30 AM

I am trying out NINA,

 

I want NINA to AF, with my Celestron Focus Motor.  I have been having to focus manually w/ Baht mask when using APT.

Make sure you have version 1.5 of the ASCOM driver for the Celestron focus motor. The previous version (1.3, which identifies itself as version 6.2) doesn't work with the latest NINA release candidates. There's some communication problem that v1.5 fixes.

 

Oh, and slewing doesn't plate solve automatically. You can run plate solving manually in the Image tab, middle window with a tab labeled "Plate Solving". Hit the "play" button in the middle of the window to start it.

 

Or you can setup the sequence to plate solve at the beginning of the sequence, along with autofocus. (which is on another tab in the middle window if you want to start a focusing run manually)

 

I've been using APT for the past two years. I like APT. I'll really like APT when it has autofocus, maybe later this week. But NINA is pretty useful too. I haven't decided which I'll be using going forward. But I'm using NINA right now.


  • SilverLitz likes this

#16 TXDigiSLR

TXDigiSLR

    Mariner 2

  • -----
  • Posts: 247
  • Joined: 02 Jan 2020
  • Loc: Dallas, TX

Posted 12 August 2020 - 10:26 AM

Well, this problem has returned for me on my ASI1600mm Pro.     I couldn't image at all last night.   I restarted my PC, I connected, disconnected, and reconnected my camera.  I confirmed I'm using ASI versions of the Driver.  Everything in NINA works until the camera tries to take a photo, then it fails with Error retrieving image data from camera!   Interestingly enough with this error, it always states the gain is -1

 

I'm beginning to get frustrated at this point!

 

[2020-08-11T22:56:44.7862]   [INFO]   [MemberName] ChooseCamera
[2020-08-11T22:56:44.7862]   [INFO]   [FileName] E:\Projects\nina\NINA\ViewModel\Equipment\Camera\CameraVM.cs
[2020-08-11T22:56:44.7862]   [INFO]   [Message] Successfully connected Camera. Id: ZWO ASI1600MM Pro #0 Name: ZWO ASI1600MM Pro Driver Version: 1, 15, 0617

 

[2020-08-11T22:56:48.2251]   [INFO]   [MemberName] CoolCamera
[2020-08-11T22:56:48.2251]   [INFO]   [FileName] E:\Projects\nina\NINA\ViewModel\Equipment\Camera\CameraVM.cs
[2020-08-11T22:56:48.2251]   [INFO]   [Message] Cooling Camera. Target: -5 Duration: 00:00:00

 

[2020-08-11T22:57:09.0457]   [ERROR]   [MemberName] DownloadExposure
[2020-08-11T22:57:09.0457]   [ERROR]   [FileName] E:\Projects\nina\NINA\Model\MyCamera\ASICamera.cs
[2020-08-11T22:57:09.0457]   [ERROR]   [Message] Error retrieving image data from camera!    at NINA.Model.MyCamera.ASICamera.<>c__DisplayClass134_0.<<DownloadExposure>b__0>d.MoveNext()

 

[2020-08-11T22:57:09.0467]   [ERROR]   [MemberName] CaptureImage
[2020-08-11T22:57:09.0467]   [ERROR]   [FileName] E:\Projects\nina\NINA\ViewModel\ImagingVM.cs
[2020-08-11T22:57:09.0467]   [ERROR]   [Message] Camera download failed. Exposure details: Exposure time: 3, Type: SNAPSHOT, Gain: -1, Filter:



#17 TXDigiSLR

TXDigiSLR

    Mariner 2

  • -----
  • Posts: 247
  • Joined: 02 Jan 2020
  • Loc: Dallas, TX

Posted 12 August 2020 - 11:32 AM

As a follow up to this.   I completely disconnected the mount from the equation (EQ6-R Pro).  I unplugged it completely and I am now not having any issues downloading images.    I am now curious if this may be a power related issue, either with the camera or the mini PC?   I just ordered a 13.8 Volt 30 Amp power supply from Amazon, to replace my current 120 watt, 10 Amp supply...



#18 OldManSky

OldManSky

    Skylab

  • *****
  • Posts: 4,418
  • Joined: 03 Jan 2019
  • Loc: Valley Center, CA USA

Posted 12 August 2020 - 04:11 PM

"[2020-08-11T22:57:09.0467]   [ERROR]   [Message] Camera download failed. Exposure details: Exposure time: 3, Type: SNAPSHOT, Gain: -1, Filter:"

 

Gain -1?  

Check your settings.  Set the gain to 100 or 150.



#19 TXDigiSLR

TXDigiSLR

    Mariner 2

  • -----
  • Posts: 247
  • Joined: 02 Jan 2020
  • Loc: Dallas, TX

Posted 12 August 2020 - 06:45 PM

"[2020-08-11T22:57:09.0467]   [ERROR]   [Message] Camera download failed. Exposure details: Exposure time: 3, Type: SNAPSHOT, Gain: -1, Filter:"

 

Gain -1?  

Check your settings.  Set the gain to 100 or 150.

I've tried at both Gains of 75 for LRGB and 139 for NB.   I can verify in the Equipment tab under Camera that they are set properly.  I can also see them reported at the proper value in the Sequence tab.  

 

... back to my possible power issue...  I just picked up a much more stout 30 amp power supply, but it's output is 13.8 volts.  Seeing as how this is pretty standard for DC car batteries, I wasn't worried too much about it, HOWEVER, my Mini PC does NOT like 13.8 volts and will not power on.  So, not I ordered a step down converter for the Mini PC...    More to follow tomorrow after my Amazon delivery...



#20 dghent

dghent

    Viking 1

  • *****
  • Vendors
  • Posts: 823
  • Joined: 10 Jun 2007

Posted 12 August 2020 - 07:50 PM

Gain settings would not impact downlodability of the image. We talked on discord; this is likely a USB issue.


  • OldManSky likes this

#21 TXDigiSLR

TXDigiSLR

    Mariner 2

  • -----
  • Posts: 247
  • Joined: 02 Jan 2020
  • Loc: Dallas, TX

Posted 18 August 2020 - 07:33 PM

Just wanted to follow up....  After swapping out a beefier Power Supply for all my gear (13.8 Volts 30 Amps) and then having to reduce the voltage for my Mini PC to be happy...

 

Everything is working as intended now.  No issues with downloading images from the camera.  Not sure if the issue was power to the camera, power to the mini-pc, or just too much power being sucked up by the mount, but I have not had an issue since.


  • KTAZ likes this

#22 KTAZ

KTAZ

    Apollo

  • *****
  • Posts: 1,174
  • Joined: 09 Apr 2020
  • Loc: Scottsdale, AZ

Posted 18 August 2020 - 08:01 PM

Just wanted to follow up....  After swapping out a beefier Power Supply for all my gear (13.8 Volts 30 Amps) and then having to reduce the voltage for my Mini PC to be happy...

 

Everything is working as intended now.  No issues with downloading images from the camera.  Not sure if the issue was power to the camera, power to the mini-pc, or just too much power being sucked up by the mount, but I have not had an issue since.

Looks like I better not piggyback onto my existing PS for my new ASI294MC Pro when it comes then. I’m running just the mount off a Pyramid 13.8vdc 5amp. But I just looked and the mount can need up to 4 amps, meaning the 2.5-3amps for the camera would fall short. I could buy a separate plug in PS (or use my Jackery portable).

 

I will have to do some experimenting; I can imagine a large draw during a high speed slew, but cannot imagine tracking needing more than 1amp.




CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.


Recent Topics






Cloudy Nights LLC
Cloudy Nights Sponsor: Astronomics