•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

Astro Fi-6 - Looking to improve alignment

• Please log in to reply
21 replies to this topic

#1 Mountain Got

Mountain Got

Lift Off

• -----
  • topic starter
  • Loc: South Australia

Posted 16 July 2020 - 07:55 AM

Good Evening,

I very recently bought a Celestron Astro Fi-6, which I am still working out what it does best, especially as I'm a total noob to astronomy.

One thing I have noticed, that even when I successfully align the scope, it seems to lose track of its targets fairly quickly.

Does anyone have any specific recommendations on improving longterm alignment?

I can see there are some generic alignment recommendations, but many of them involve the two-star auto align on the SE models, which I don't believe is an option on these Astro FI's.

Yes, I am also using batteries (small power pack should arrive next week).

Just to elaborate, I aligned tonight on Alpha Centauri, Acrux and Bcrux (I'm in Australia, so the Crux is pretty useful for alignment, and AC is right next door).

After successful alignment, go-to for Jupiter was way out, as was pretty much everything else. Granted, it was a long way to travel to get to Jupiter but I wasn't expecting it to be quite so far out.

So although I'm in noob territitory, and I'm not expecting this thing to be a mini hubble, what should my expectations be, and what are the main things I need to do to get the best out of alignment (noting that I don't think two star align is available for this model).

Thanks

#2 sg6

sg6

Cosmos

• Loc: Norfolk, UK.

Posted 16 July 2020 - 08:27 AM

Using batteries is likely the first problem, they do not have the output especially for a decent length slew to target.