•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

Question about the AT60ED and the 0.8X REDUCER FIELD FLATTENER

• Please log in to reply
15 replies to this topic

#1 ylin

ylin

Ranger 4

• topic starter
  • Loc: Irvine, CA

Posted 24 July 2020 - 02:15 AM

I just received the .8X reducer and field flatener for the Astro-Tech AT60ED today. I went out and took few testing shots. I am new to this but I don't see the stars are round at the corners. Can anyone give me your opinion? I don't know if this is a ok performance since I don't have much experience...

M8_smaple.jpg

#2 Cometeer

Cometeer

Vanguard

• Loc: SF Bay Area, California or Illinois

Posted 24 July 2020 - 02:18 AM

Looks like you need to add more spacing. Start adding some thin spacers and see if you can improve the corner performance. 

• PatrickVt likes this

#3 ylin

ylin

Ranger 4

• topic starter

Posted 24 July 2020 - 02:29 AM

Thanks for the advise. This is the dedicated 0.8 FF for AT60ED, I assume this should be taken care of... I definitely will try some spacer and see what may happen. Thanks.   

#4 PatrickVt

PatrickVt

Messenger

• -----
  • Loc: Vermont, US

Posted 24 July 2020 - 09:18 AM

Even though this field flattener is made specifically for the AT60ED, cameras vary especially when it comes to sensor to lens flange distance.  Here is what the product description advises right on the product page...  "Backfocus from the rear shoulder of the AT60FF to the image plane is 54.8mm, so you may require some additional spacers..."  

Hope this helps a bit.

Patrick

• ylin likes this

#5 pinzmann

pinzmann

Mariner 2

• -----
  • Loc: Yucca valley, ca

Posted 24 July 2020 - 08:27 PM