•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

What does everyone think about the new Lunt 40mm h-alpha telescope coming out? Its smaller a lense but small bandpass too.

• Please log in to reply
21 replies to this topic

#1 iseegeorgesstar

iseegeorgesstar

Vostok 1

• -----
  • topic starter
  • Loc: New York

Posted 30 July 2020 - 09:59 AM

LUNT 40MM DEDICATED HYDROGEN-ALPHA SOLAR TELESCOPE

Here's the link
https://luntsolarsys...olar-telescope/

It's smaller than their entry level 50mm but the bandpass for the 40mm is .65 while the 50mm is .75

I'm new to telescopes in general. A smaller lens means it captures less light right? But a smaller bandpass means you can see more surface detail?

Do you think features of the sun will be viewable on the 40mm? Can you compensate for this with a barlow and high-end and/or high-magnification eye piece?

I noticed there exists a 35mm lunt halpha scope but they don't seem to sell it anymore. Also the product page for the 40mm has the same pictures of the sun as the 50mm. And they're currently not selling a hardcase for the 40mm which makes me wonder if it's being rushed or if they're just playing it safe until they sell more of these.

Thanks for your thoughts and opinions.

Edited by iseegeorgesstar, 30 July 2020 - 10:00 AM.

#2 SpaceConqueror3

SpaceConqueror3

Viking 1

• -----
  • Loc: Phinney Ridge, Seattle, WA

Posted 30 July 2020 - 10:13 AM

I have no experience with LUNT telescopes but I've had a 40mm Coronado PST for nearly 10 yrs and the aperture is fine as the sun is of course a huge target. In the PST's case at f/10 (same as the LUNT referenced), you can easily apply high power and more than adequately see the small prominences and surface details. So don't worry about it's diminutive aperture.

• MarkGregory and iseegeorgesstar like this

#3 iseegeorgesstar

iseegeorgesstar

Vostok 1

• -----