•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

Need Help with the Celestron NextStar 4SE

• Please log in to reply
14 replies to this topic

#1 aoztanir

aoztanir

Lift Off

• -----
  • topic starter

Posted 31 July 2020 - 03:15 PM

Hi all,

I am a novice astronomer and I really need help with a Celestron Nexstar 4se. I am using a feature called two-star alignment, and it displays successful, however other objects are uncentered when the telescope moves automatically. I have tried for many days to fix this, however, I am most definitely not an expert and really need help!

#2 sg6

sg6

Cosmos

• Loc: Norfolk, UK.

Posted 31 July 2020 - 03:35 PM

Going to suggest your expectations are too high.

The 4SE is a nice instrument but high precision engineering it is not.

Reasonable engineering maybe.

When you set it up the better the initial position is to ideal the better. Basically the scope has less user introduced errors to compensate for.

First question is how do you aim North ?

Many use a compass and that is pretty close to useless.

If you had a location you could be told your magnetic declination, just in case you are using a compass.

So set up is everything.

Data should be set by you not from the pick list. Somehow Celestron never seem to have that right.

You need a wide eyepiece, as wide as possible so lets say 30mm plossl.

The 4SE is a Mak and 1325mm focal length.

So a 30mm gives 44x and a field of 1.1 degrees. Here is the odd aspect the field is really +/- 0.55 degrees.

So goto's have to be very good and that is with a wide eyepiece that I half guess you don't have one.

If the scope went to within 0.8 of a degree of the requested target then that target is out of view.