•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

need eyepeice to impress wife

• Please log in to reply
25 replies to this topic

#1 jimhoward999

jimhoward999

Lift Off

• -----
  • topic starter
  • Loc: Brentwood, Tennessee

Posted 01 August 2020 - 11:42 AM

I just bought a celestron AVX mount and 8" edge HD telescope.  I am an astronomy complete beginner, but I am a lens designer by trade so know optics in general  fairly well.   I need one or two eyepieces that will produce pleasing images of the moon and Jupiter the cost of the telescope wont create too much marital strife.

A first question is on the star diagonal.  The telescope is supposedly corrected over a 42mm field.   And if I want to present a field that is 2 full moons wide then that is about 35mm (my telescope EFL is 2032mm).  Both of those numbers are bigger than 1.25" (31.75mm).   Do I need to replace the 1.25" star diagonal with a 2" version?   It seems like I do.

A second question is on the best apparent FOV.  A 40mm eyepiece came with my telescope. The apparent FOV looks to be about 40 degrees, maybe less.  Seems uncomfortably narrow.   What is the best choice?  I see eyepieces with crazy wide FOVs, like 100 degrees for sale.  But it would seem like with such a wide field the eye relief would have to be really short and that would be uncomfortable. Does anyone have experience with these?

I thought ideal for me might be something around 65 or 70 degrees apparent FOV and a focal length of around 25mm or 30mm would be good for my "impress the wife"  need and maybe with a 2" diagonal.   Is my thinking all wrong?

Your help would be appreciated.   

• Curious_John likes this

#2 SloMoe

SloMoe

Mercury-Atlas

• Loc: Washington State

Posted 01 August 2020 - 11:59 AM

OK, a TV Panoptic 15mm & a GSO 2.5X Tele-extender

Great views of anything. 

#3 Jeffmar

Jeffmar

Apollo

• -----