•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

80 mm starsense refractor vs 114 mm starsense reflector

• Please log in to reply
7 replies to this topic

#1 Mattyb584

Mattyb584

Lift Off

• -----
  • topic starter

Posted 01 August 2020 - 06:09 PM

hey all, I'm very very new to astronomy and looking to buy my first scope and I'm intrigued by the celestron starsense explorer scopes. Whether or not the optics are any good or the mount is worthwhile, I'm just curious if in your opinions the 80mm refractor or 114mm reflector is a better scope in general?

I have very little experience with telescopes in general but I've spent a few hours with a very cheap 70mm refractor (without a finderscope and only one 10mm eyepiece.) Honestly can't decide and everyone will have a different opinion I'm sure.

Sorry if you guys get a lot of questions like these but any feedback would be appreciated!

#2 eyeoftexas

eyeoftexas

Viking 1

Posted 01 August 2020 - 06:14 PM

Welcome to CloudyNights!

This thread might help: https://www.cloudyni...sense-explorer/

Clear Skies.

#3 gene 4181

gene 4181

Fly Me to the Moon

• Loc: n.e. ohio

Posted 01 August 2020 - 06:18 PM

Whatever you do , DON'T get the 114 mm Newtonian , its a Bird Jones  Newtonian ....  its a very fast spherical  primary  with a 2 x  corrector that doubles the focal length and  (tries to )  correct for spherical aberrations  in the draw tube (where the eyepiece goes)  The 5in f5 is a plain  parabolic Newtonian  ,    my only  thing on it ,   

Edited by gene 4181, 01 August 2020 - 06:24 PM.

• Augustus likes this

#4 cookjaiii

cookjaiii

Viking 1

• Loc: Southeast PA

Posted 01 August 2020 - 11:14 PM

Welcome to Cloudy Nights!

There is no one scope that's right for everybody, and there are many factors you want to consider.

Budget?

What do you like to view?  Moon & planets?  Deep sky objects?