•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

My set up, and questions for improvement

astrophotography beginner dslr
  • Please log in to reply
26 replies to this topic

#1 WahooMike

WahooMike

Lift Off

• -----
  • topic starter
  • Loc: Lake Monticello, Virginia

Posted 01 August 2020 - 06:22 PM

Hello all!

AP Newbie here. LOL. Wanted to get some feedback from everyone before continuing to improve my set up. Much of what I have I had already purchased to shoot professional sports photography, my bread and butter for the past 24 years. For those with solid experience, please let me know if I'm on the right track, or if I need to switch gears. Here's the list of my current equipment, and some future considerations.

CURRENT EQUIP- Stuff I already had.

• Canon EOS-1D Mark IV - APS-H crop sensor (1.3) - the only real drawback to this body is the size and weight. 
  • Manfrotto Tripod 3021BN with 3-way pan/tilt head, quick release.
  • Canon 85mm f/1.8.
  • Canon 70-200mm f/2.8.
  • Macbook Pro Retina (2012 version).

CURRENT EQUIP - Stuff I recently purchased for AP.

• Canon 50mm f/1.8
  • Rokinon 14mm f/2.8
  • iOptron Skyguider Pro w/ iPolar Electronic Polar Scope.
  • William Optics Alt/Az Mount (to replace the SkyGuider Pro's cheap plastic version).

CONSIDERING - Comments/Suggestions welcome.

• William Optics Redcat 51, Updated Version (by end of year).
  • Canon EOS Ra (probably after the new year).
  • Used Windows 10 Laptop (because iOptron apparently can't get their iPolar software to work well with MacOS).

(1) I believe my current Canon will do an excellent job until I can afford to move into full frame/mirrorless, dedicated Astro camera.

(2) I've heard the Redcat 51 is an excellent option for the 250mm range (325mm with my crop sensor). Thoughts?