•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

Viewing only telescope?

• Please log in to reply
4 replies to this topic

#1 By-tor

By-tor

Sputnik

• -----
  • topic starter
  • Loc: Crystal Coast of NC.

Posted 01 August 2020 - 06:27 PM

I'm pretty new to this hobby with my first telescope ever being an 8" Zhumell Dobsonian I purchased a few weeks ago that my wife and I both enjoy using.  I also purchased a Sky-Watcher EQM-35 mount for photography and viewing.  The mounts max payload is only 22 lbs limiting what it will carry.  

Could someone recommend a good scope for viewing my go to mount can swing?

Thank you

#2 Cometeer

Cometeer

Vanguard

• Loc: SF Bay Area, California or Illinois

Posted 01 August 2020 - 06:40 PM

Since you plan to use it for AP as well, I recommend a 70-80mm fpl-53 doublet or better. 

• ButterFly and By-tor like this

#3 By-tor

By-tor

Sputnik

• -----
  • topic starter
  • Loc: Crystal Coast of NC.

Posted 01 August 2020 - 07:13 PM

Since you plan to use it for AP as well, I recommend a 70-80mm fpl-53 doublet or better. 

Are these scopes strong enough to visually see deep sky objects?   

I have been looking at getting a 60-72mm for wide field photography, but going to give my Canon 300mm f4 prime lens a chance first (waiting on tube clamps that I hope will work).

Thank you

#4 ButterFly

ButterFly

Viking 1

Posted 01 August 2020 - 07:34 PM

80mms is a good companion for a dob.  Each can do well what the other can't.  An 80mm is good for wide sweeping views.  From a dark site, a lot of details can be seen.  They are limited by aperture, of course.  On the other side, the dob has very good reach, but a very narrow field of view due to its focal length.  The two complement each other well.  An 80mm also makes a good spotter for daytime use.