•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

Choosing binoculars

• Please log in to reply
7 replies to this topic

#1 Rassati

Rassati

Lift Off

• -----
  • topic starter

Posted Yesterday, 12:00 AM

Hello!

I have been searching for binoculars for the last 2 weeks. I tried to get help from another forum, but it has been 2 weeks since I posted my question, but 0 answer. I hope someone can help me out over here.

I'm a beginner in birdwatching and I want to buy reasonable binoculars for something around 100 euros. I selected these models so far:

Celestron 8x42 Outland (https://www.bhphotov..._Binocular.html)

The exit pupil of just 5,3mm, but it is nitrogen filled, WP, with a slight better angle and field of view and lighter once it's made with roof prism. I read that roof prisms are more expensive, so seeing such binoculars with roof prism, nitrogen filling and multi-coated lenses makes me suspicious about the quality it actually delivers. It was also the cheapest in the local shops.

Nikon Aculon A211 7x50
(https://www.bhphotov...culon_a211.html)

I believe the minimum focus distance to be wrong, some websites say it is 4.

Nikon action vii CF 7x50 (model BAA652AA)
(https://www.amazon.c...F/dp/B000K6H9QM)

Seemingly of a better category (action) than the Aculon 211. I found old announcements selling them for 200 euros, what could potentially mean that they have superior optics. There also good reviews about them and, after all, they are Nikon. Nonetheless, I found few websites with info about it.

Is there any major difference between them that I should have in mind before purchasing or not?

I'll be very grateful to whoever help me with it.

Thank you!
  • Cali likes this

#2 Cali

Cali

Surveyor 1

• Loc: Bay Area

Posted Yesterday, 12:07 AM