•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

do focal reducers really make scopes faster?

• Please log in to reply
12 replies to this topic

#1 adamphillips

adamphillips

Messenger

• ****-
  • topic starter

Posted Yesterday, 01:17 AM

ive always been a little skeptical. take for example my edge11. I have an optec lepus reducer .62. but according to image link its actually operating at about .65

sure it is reducing the focal length. for one, obviously adding glass is going to reduce some light transmission.

but here is what ive always wondered. on my SCT the light is already bouncing off two mirrors, and it already being transformed down through the f10 system, and then it hits the reducer.

im not an expert on optics so this has always been where my skepticism comes from. seems like the light has already been "slowed down", doesn't seem like you can "speed it back up" again, except by removing a mirror with hyperstar.

I know theres some experts out there. am I wrong or right? I really want to talk to somebody who knows what theyre talking about.

#2 Whichwayisnorth

Whichwayisnorth

Gemini

• Loc: Southern California

Posted Yesterday, 01:46 AM

Yes.

Point at something hard to see in the night sky.  Expose for 10 seconds without reducer. Do it again with reducer.  Compare.

• Jon Isaacs likes this

#3 Astrojensen

Astrojensen

Voyager 1

• Loc: Bornholm, Denmark

Posted Yesterday, 01:47 AM

obviously adding glass is going to reduce some light transmission.

Yes, by 0.5%... 

sure it is reducing the focal length

If it reduces the focal length and the telescope is still working at full aperture, then the scope has also been "sped up". 

but here is what ive always wondered. on my SCT the light is already bouncing off two mirrors, and it already being transformed down through the f10 system, and then it hits the reducer.