•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

Tensioned primary mirror - 8" F4 Newtonian

• Please log in to reply
10 replies to this topic

#1 lucian nicu

lucian nicu

Lift Off

• -----
  • topic starter

Posted Yesterday, 08:50 AM

Have you ever heard of this term: "Tensioned primary mirror"?

I'm a beginner, so I don't rule out the term, but I don't understand how you can bend a piece of glass. It seems that my 8 'F4 Newtonian (bought used) cannot be used properly due to the tense primary mirror.
I understand the following:  before I bought it, a person tightened the screws that support the mirror and then stored the telescope for a certain period, long enough for the mirror to twist and stay that way. If I did not understand well, please correct me.

But is this possible?

The effect is that the stars have a triangular shape, in about the same direction, not as a coma (from the inside to the outside). I've already checked for pinched optics, and I've even loosened the screws more than I would have liked. I'm attaching a picture taken by someone who knows these things better than I do.

Attached Thumbnails

• focus + out of focus.png

#2 KBHornblower

KBHornblower

Explorer 1

• -----
  • Loc: Falls Church, VA (Washington DC suburb)

Posted Yesterday, 10:43 AM

A triangular distortion like that can be caused by three clips pressing down too hard on the edge of the mirror.  You can bend anything if you force it hard enough, and it takes only a hair-splitting amount of deformation to spoil the image like that.  A hair is about 50 microns thick, while the distortion needed to cause this fault is less than a micron.  If the fault persists with no pressure from the clips, that is bad news.  

• areyoukiddingme likes this

#3 lucian nicu

lucian nicu

Lift Off

• -----
  • topic starter

Posted Yesterday, 11:33 AM