•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

Trying to make juice out of the lemons life gave me

beginner astrophotography CMOS DIY imaging planet planetarium software
  • Please log in to reply
13 replies to this topic

#1 PollAirUs

PollAirUs

Sputnik

• -----
  • topic starter
  • Loc: Minas Gerais, Brasil

Posted 02 August 2020 - 05:27 PM

Hi folks!
  I've been researching astrophotography for seven months now and have not yet bought my equipment for it. Since most of the necessary equipment is well beyond my budget, I decided to use the equipment I already have: My 4.5" newtonian in an Alt/Az mount with a webcam that I adapted for astrophotography just by removing it lens and placing the eyepiece ring on the webcam so I can attach it to the telescope.

Of course I'm tracking the planets manually. It's very difficult but it's something that gets easier with practice. Besides, it's the only way.

However, when I finally managed to have saturn on my screen, I realized that no matter what I did, I managed to achieve a good focus but Saturn was still that pale spot, I tried to change all the settings, but nothing worked.

I'm thinking of buying some glow filter, some simple filter that retains some of the brightness of the objects being photographed? Or a UV / IR filter? Any suggestions on what I can do to reduce all that brightness?

Attached Thumbnails

• Please Help Me.png

#2 zxx

zxx

Surveyor 1

• -----

Posted 02 August 2020 - 05:47 PM

Did you try reducing exposure ? 

#3 The_8_Bit_Zombie

The_8_Bit_Zombie

Mariner 2

• -----
  • Loc: Southern California

Posted 02 August 2020 - 05:49 PM