•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

Beginner Budget Stuff

• Please log in to reply
29 replies to this topic

#1 KevinCR

KevinCR

Lift Off

• -----
  • topic starter

Posted 03 August 2020 - 09:21 AM

First of all, I am new to this, and may not understand all of the terms and acronyms. If this is in the wrong section, by all means move it. 

I am looking at getting into astrophotography. Assuming that is the right term, I want to take pictures of deep space objects like galaxies and nebulae. My budget is 1.5k. That needs to be split between an EQ mount, a telescope, and a camera.

So first things first, I need an EQ mount. My research tells me that this will likely be the most expensive part. I am not sure how to divide up my budget, so I have found a few mounts, which I will list, with links and prices(Links aren't against the rules, I don't think)

iOptron SmartEQ Pro Computerized Equatorial Mount With Case - $560

There is also one that doesn't have a case , for $500

Orion SkyView Pro EQ GoTo - $700

Meade LX85 German Equatorial Mount - $800

If you have any suggestions besides these, by all means give them to me. Just keep in mind the 1.5k budget. I have mostly just picked these mounts to give a price range, and am not really sure exactly what I am doing. I would also like the advantages of different mounts and what specs I need to pay attention to just in general for an EQ mount.

Speaking of not sure of what I am doing, I need a camera. Looks like CMOS isn't an option given my budget, so I guess I will have to go with DSLR. I have absolutely no idea what to chose, or how much to spend given my budget, other than I will likely need to remove the IR filter myself. Give me suggestions, and their merits, please. Just like mounts, I don't know what specs to pay attention to for these.