•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

From Laptop to PC in Observatory? Help build?

• Please log in to reply
4 replies to this topic

#1 MalVeauX

MalVeauX

Cosmos

• topic starter
  • Loc: Florida

Posted 03 August 2020 - 12:31 PM

Hey all,

I've been using my laptop in my observatory for a few years. It's getting long in the tooth, but it works, more importantly some of the keys have stopped responding (important ones that I use often like the control key, some number keys, etc). And now the track-pad on it is also having weird issues. I'm using a USB keyboard & mouse at this point to make up for it. The laptop itself is just an i3 based Toshiba with a 1TB SSE and 4Gb RAM. Nothing special. But it's done the service for years now.

I think I'm ready to replace it though. I generally run high data rate cameras, such as IMX183 sensor (20Mp), and smaller but fast cameras like the 290MM & 224MC via USB3. I do a lot of solar system imaging (solar, lunar, planetary; mostly solar). From my understanding, I would benefit from more RAM than anything, so I'm thinking of getting 16Gb RAM since its cheap anyways and will try to get faster RAM if price allows. I will re-use the 1TB SSD (its a Samsun EVO series). I generally use a USB3 powered hub to do everything, but I think I would like to avoid running my cameras and stuff on the hub and directly connect to the bus to avoid any issues there and let the hub be for peripherals and stuff that don't need best rates on the bus. I recently experienced this when I tried to use my wireless USB mouse while copying over my USB3 hub to a USB3 128GB flash drive (Patriot Supersonic Rage 2) and the mouse was cutting in and out, so those ports on the USB3 hub are likely shared. I want to avoid that, so I will likely keep my high data throughput devices off the hub and on separate ports on the computer itself.