•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

Scope for Celestron AVX

• Please log in to reply
8 replies to this topic

#1 Obone236

Obone236

Lift Off

• -----
  • topic starter

Posted 03 August 2020 - 03:07 PM

Hello all! I have been researching for weeks. I am brand new at learning any of this. I have to say, this is the broadest and longest list of gear I have ever seen for a hobby. So many freaking choices and I need help. 

I have decided on an Celestron AVX Mount (Unless yall tell me why I am wrong)

I am trying to slowly build a system I can use during and along the build up. 

What I currently have

Cannon 90D

70-200mm Tamron 2.8

Star adventure pro

What I would like is

Celestron AVX

Scope that would work well on it ($700-$1000 ish Range)

So far I like DSO
Planetary would be fun

I will eventually get guide scope

Guide camera

Astro Camera

I have zero clue on the Scope. Thought I did but then the more I look the more confused I get. Also nothing is in stock anywhere it seems. 

Can anyone help guide me in a direction. Thank you very much for your help and assistance. Love that I found this site!

Edited by Obone236, 03 August 2020 - 03:12 PM.

#2 descott12

descott12

Vendor - Solar Live View

• Vendors
  • Loc: Charlotte, NC

Posted 03 August 2020 - 03:12 PM

I think you may be going about this the wrong way. You should figure out what you want to view/image and that will determine what scope to get. Then you will need to figure out what mount you will need.

Once you figure out the scope, I am sure there are plenty of CN members that can help determine the best choice for a mount.

Edited by descott12, 03 August 2020 - 03:12 PM.

#3 Obone236

Obone236

Lift Off

• -----
  • topic starter

Posted 03 August 2020 - 03:16 PM

Descott12,