•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

Newbie 150mm Mak recommendation

• Please log in to reply
55 replies to this topic

#1 ny65

ny65

Sputnik

• -----
  • topic starter

Posted 03 August 2020 - 06:52 PM

I am a newbie astronomy looking to buy a decent telescope for mostly planetary and some stellar observation. My budget is around US $1000-1200. After a lot of lurking in CN threads and analysis paralysis, I have settled on the following collection:

Orion 150mm Mak-Cas (OTA only): $599

Skyview Pro (Manual) mount: $299

High Point RACI finderscope: $59.95

GSO 1.25" dielectric diagonal: $68

Agena Starguider 1.25" 8mm, 12mm, 25mm EP: $180

Total: ~ $1206

Does this seem like a reasonable ensemble?

Some background rationale:

- I didn't want to get the Skywatcher version since I figure the diagonal/eyepiece/finder may need to upgraded anyway, so it would make sense to get better quality components to begin with.

- I was looking at the Skyview Pro GEM since I wanted to keep the system somewhat luggable (I understand it will not be lightweight) though sturdy. I couldn't find a reasonably priced, robust, manual Alt-Az mount around the same price point.

- I didn't want to get a zoom eyepiece right away. I was hoping the 8/12/25 combo will cover planetary/double stars/some DSO

I am not planning to do AP, but hope that the system can be outfitted appropriately if I decided to get into it.

Any thoughts/suggestions? Thanks.

[Edited 8:57PM US/EDT: Corrected Celestron to Orion OTA]

Edited by ny65, 03 August 2020 - 07:57 PM.

#2 mrsjeff

mrsjeff

Mariner 2

• Loc: Cincinnati, OH USA

Posted 03 August 2020 - 07:26 PM

I assume you're talking about the Orion 150mm Mak. I think your plan sounds reasonable, especially since the SkyView Pro mount can be upgraded to either a tracking mount or a full GoTo system.
  • ny65 likes this

#3 Chris Y