•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

So my antireflective coating is damaged

cassegrain catadioptric Celestron optics beginner
  • Please log in to reply
18 replies to this topic

#1 StargazerPrivateer

StargazerPrivateer

Lift Off

• -----
  • topic starter

Posted 03 August 2020 - 11:54 PM

So I bought a used Celestron C6 and there was a massive foggy layer on the inside of it, most likely mold and I cleaned it with a microfiber cloth and lens solution. I am a beginner (probably wasn't the best idea to get a C6) The previous owner kept it in the basement for a while I think. All the foggy stuff came off then I noticed that in some areas the antireflective coating is damaged/missing. But only on the inside of the collector plate, thankfully not both sides. I get pretty massive chromatic aberration off of planets and anything I look at (just cannot focus it perfectly) I attached a photo of the aberration, I was playing around with the settings and lenses, tried the barlow, an apochromatic wide field lens, the eyepiece it came with and they all still show the chromatic aberration. 

I did clean it and I most likely rubbed too hard in some sections so it came off, or the mold already ate into it, I have no idea which it was or a mix of both but I'm pretty bummed right now and I really don't know the best course of action. Will collimating it decrease the chromatic aberration? Should I call celestron and ask how much to re-coat it? I found another private company that advertises doing it: https://www.majestic...pe-coating.html

I am going to call them tomorrow for a quote as well. I also attached a picture of Saturn using my phone to the eyepiece, it looks slightly better in person but only a bit. 

It was a beginner mistake to even buy the scope but I don't know what to do now if anyone can help I'd greatly appreciate it thank you