•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

Advice on finding dark(er) sky sites?

• Please log in to reply
9 replies to this topic

#1 jfjohnny5

jfjohnny5

Lift Off

• -----
  • topic starter

Posted 04 August 2020 - 02:52 PM

I'm just getting started in the hobby, loving it so far, but definitely lamenting where I live - the SW burbs of Chicago. I'm in a Bortle 7-8 zone; based on different online resources. I can get to Bortle 4 skies in just a quick 30-45 minutes. The problem I seem to have is that all the parks and open public spaces I find are "Closed at Dusk" in the case of local municipality and county sites, and "Closed at 8pm" for state parks. It's... frustrating. I understand it's a liability and public safety thing, but it seems so arbitrary.

Anyone have advice on how to find spots that are telescope-friendly, so to speak? I'm not so much looking for campgrounds as I am somewhere I could go for a few hours after dark, and still drive home afterward.

#2 tjschultz2011

tjschultz2011

Ranger 4

• Loc: Eldorado, WI

Posted 04 August 2020 - 02:56 PM

I would recommend talking to local rangers at those parks to see if they'll make an exception for you. I've heard of this working before and some people on here have had success with it. 

#3 photoracer18

photoracer18

Soyuz

• Loc: Martinsburg, WV

Posted 04 August 2020 - 03:21 PM

Find out if any astronomy clubs meet at one of these locations on the dark of the Moon days. This is what they do in my area. They get permission from the park service to have a public or private star party at those locations.

• Stelios, dswtan and SilverLitz like this

#4 Pauls72

Pauls72

Mercury-Atlas

• Loc: LaPorte, IN USA

Posted 04 August 2020 - 03:44 PM

A few places I would recommend.

Green River State Wildlife Area - Harmon, IL

https://www2.illinoi...GreenRiver.aspx