•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

Astrophoto with a Sony A7ii, a Celestron CPC 800 or other scope?

• Please log in to reply
3 replies to this topic

#1 minna_

minna_

Lift Off

• -----
  • topic starter

Posted 04 August 2020 - 03:22 PM

Hi everyone,

I have a mirrorless Sony A7ii camera. My dad owns a Celestron CPC 800 (2000mm, F/10)-- for the duration of this pandemic, I will be living with him and therefore have access to his scope. However, at some point during or after the pandemic, I will be moving back to a different state and will not be bringing the scope with me.

Considering this, I am looking for some advice. I am very new to astrophotography so please explain jargon as you go, if possible.

If I understand correctly, if I were to purchase accessories for the Celestron CPC 800 to pursue astrophotography, I would need a t-adapter, t-ring, Stellermate program & equatorial mount. So my first question is: if I purchase all of these items, will I be able to photograph deep-space objects like galaxies? Will I be able to photograph planetary bodies in our solar system with detail?

If I purchase the accessories for the CPC 800, I will be spending over $1k. And then in a few months, I will be moving away and will only have access to this telescope maybe once a year. I have been told that it is an excellent scope, but not excellent for astrophotography, so it maybe seems like a waste of money. However, my dad lives somewhere where I can use the telescope every night, as long as the weather permits, since light pollution is low. Whereas when I move back home, I will be in a city and will use the scope less frequently.