•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

Starizona APEX on SW Evostar 120ED

• Please log in to reply
6 replies to this topic

#1 number9

number9

Sputnik

• -----
  • topic starter
  • Loc: Los Angeles

Posted 06 August 2020 - 01:01 AM

I'm thinking about picking up a focal reducer for the Skywatcher Evostar 120ED APO f/7.5

The options i'm looking at are:

Sky-Watcher 0.85X Reducer/Corrector for Pro 120ED Telescope - $250

Starizona APEX .65x focal reducer - $450

Orion 0.8x Focal Reducer for Refractor Telescopes - $139

Skywatcher's own reducer/corrector would certainly work, but the Starzona's .65x intrigues me.

I've seen it perform well on the Skywatcher Esprit 120ED Triplet, but would it also work on the 120ED APO doublet? I'm totally new to refractors, and would appreciate any advice.

Looking to do some deep space astrophotography.

Edited by number9, 06 August 2020 - 01:55 PM.

#2 Tapio

Tapio

Soyuz

• -----
  • Loc: Tampere, Finland

Posted 06 August 2020 - 02:25 AM

Regarding Apex - the L version of Apex is only available this August so nobody has experience of it ( your Evostar needs L version).

But like I said in another of the same question - why would it not work ?

You could always check Starizona if in doubt.

#3 tonyt

tonyt

Vanguard

• -----
  • Loc: Australia

Posted 06 August 2020 - 03:39 AM

For chips smaller than APSc the Apex will work well on a variety of refractors. I had one and used it on the 3 scopes in my signature and it was pretty good, but stars towards the edge of my APSc chip looked astigmatic. I didn't work hard to fine tune the chip to reducer distance though.

I've decided to stick with full frame reducers where it's easy to get the whole APSc frame looking good. I don't even have to use flats since I'm picking the middle out of the image circle. 

• number9 likes this

#4 Huangdi

Huangdi

Viking 1