•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

Herschel Wedge imaging focus issues

solar refractor imaging accessories filters
  • Please log in to reply
4 replies to this topic

#1 nashtok

nashtok

Vostok 1

• -----
  • topic starter
  • Loc: Seattle, WA

Posted 06 August 2020 - 01:29 AM

Greetings!

I have an APM branded 2" Herschel wedge (Same as Altair and Meade wedges as far as I can tell) that I've been using for visual solar observation for a few years with my AT115EDT refractor.  A few days ago I decided to try some imaging through it at prime focus with a micro 4/3 camera, however I very quickly realized that even with the focus racked in as far as possible, I couldn't quite achieve focus.  The adapter I use to connect my camera up to the 2" receiver on the wedge is pretty low profile, only adding 9.75mm to the backfocus distance so unless there is anything even thinner I don't think there's much I can do from there.

Has anyone run into this same issue/does anyone have any suggestions for any way I can get focus with this setup?  I'm hoping I'm just being a bit dull and am looking over something obvious, but all I can think of is modifying the telescope/focuser which I'd really rather not do just for this...

#2 FlankerOneTwo

FlankerOneTwo

Viking 1

• Loc: Vegas, baby!

Posted 06 August 2020 - 02:07 AM

If you don't have enough inward focuser travel you will need either an Optical Corrector Assembly (OCA) or something like the Allan Gee Mark II. Harry Siebert makes a 1x OCA that should work, and is very helpful with questions. These are frequently used to bring out the focus point for use with a binoviewer

• nashtok likes this

#3 sg6

sg6

Cosmos

• Loc: Norfolk, UK.

Posted 06 August 2020 - 02:09 AM